Passenger Reviews… In their own words

5 of 5 starsReviewed June 18, 2013 NEW

We went on the Champagne Sunset Cruise and thoroughly enjoyed the cruise, the champagne, and the amazing sunset! Kevin, the Captain and Tina the Bartender did an amazing job making everyone feel welcome. The champagne flowed, the cruise was spectacular and the sunsets breathtaking. This needs to be on everyone’s bucket list!

Was this review helpful?Yes
Problem with this review?
GaPeppy
Atlanta
Senior Contributor

34 reviews 34 reviews

 12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 starsReviewed June 13, 2013

There are some larger cruise options on Lake Tahoe but I wanted something where I wasn’t with 200 of my closest friends. The Safari Rose was perfect.The website said gourmet lunch but as most businesses oversell themselves; i was expecting ham sandwiches and a bag of chips. I was wrong -> they provided very nicely done chicken and steak kabobs with rice pilaf and a ceasar salad. I was pretty impressed.The highlight of the cruise is probably Emerald Bay and the close up view of Fannette Island. We spent most of our time seated in the bow but did wander upstairs and spend an hour on the spacious topside.Overall my wife and I thoroughly enjoyed the outing. Is also helped that they have a bar and Desmond was doing a bang up job with the bloody marys.

Visited June 2013
Less
Was this review helpful?Yes
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig7000
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 starsReviewed June 3, 2013

My wife and I and two friends took the Safari Rose cruise and were very pleased. It is an older boat but very well maintained. The crew was very welcoming and courteous. We took the mid day cruise that served the lunch and the food was great. I would highly recommend this.

Visited June 2013
  • Photo of Connie C.
    • 0friends
    • 1review

    San Antonio, TX

    5.0 star rating

    6/16/2013

    The cruise was fantastic!!! The crew Chris, Stacey & Sam were so friendly & likeable that made the cruise even more fun!!! The food was great, sites were amazing would do it again & again!!!!

  • Review fromDenise M.

    Photo of Denise M.
    • 0friends
    • 2reviews

    Fresno-High, CA

    5.0 star rating

    6/8/2013

    We had a wonderful time on the 2 hour sunset cruise. The staff are friendly. The trip to Emerald Bay was smooth. Complementary wine/beer and appetizers topped the experience. We were even able to see a Bald Eagle! Very relaxing evening on the shores of Lake Tahoe. I’d recommend this trip, it is well worth it.

What our guests have to say about us on Tripadvisor
Basseterre, St. Kitts
Senior Contributor

39 reviews 39 reviews

 4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 starsReviewed October 11, 2012

We took a fall cruise with two other couples on the Safari Rose. The trip is 4 hours long and is totally relaxing. Just the right touch of commentary and long stretches of quiet with some background music. The boat was maybe half to 2/3 full and there was plenty of room on the upper and lower decks. The crew…More 

Was this review helpful?Yes
Spring, Texas USA
Reviewer

4 reviews 4 reviews

Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities

1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote 

Ritzville, Washington, United States
Senior Reviewer

7 reviews 7 reviews

 3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 starsReviewed October 6, 2012

What a beautiful cruise! The weather was excellent so we sat out on the deck. A bar was conveniently located and from the sound of the paddles wheels and the rock of the ship, I almost fell asleep in my chair.

Was this review helpful?Yes
Senior Contributor

29 reviews 29 reviews

 11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 starsReviewed October 2, 2012

With many options to chose from on Lake Tahoe, we decided on the lunch cruise aboard the safari rose, the change of seasons and a weekday, the cruise though not full still attracted some 25 plus other cruisers, we were collected at our hotel by a cheerful and humorous driver and delivered at the tahoe keys where the boat leaves…More 

Was this review helpful?Yes
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor

23 reviews 23 reviews

 3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 starsReviewed September 26, 2012
1

 

person found this review helpful

My wife and I enjoyed a great 4 hour venture on the Safari Rose. What a wonderful way to see the sights and beauty of Lake Tahoe. Captain gives just the right amount of commentary. Excellent drinks and outstanding lunch. Plenty of places to sit and relax. Enjoy!

Was this review helpful?Yes
Ohio
Senior Contributor

21 reviews 21 reviews

 7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 starsReviewed September 13, 2012

We did an afternoon cruise and really enjoyed it. The crew and staff were helpful, the catamaran was comfortable, and it was a relaxing time. It didn’t quite last the advertised two hours. Also, though very nice, the bartender was a little pushy with the overpriced drinks. I’d do it again though because the lake was gorgeous and so peaceful…More 

Was this review helpful?Yes
Northern Virginia
Senior Reviewer

8 reviews 8 reviews

Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 starsReviewed August 15, 2012
1

 

person found this review helpful

The four-hour cruise along the western shore of the lake includes lunch and an interesting and amusing commentary from the captain. Compared with other cruises offered, it’s a good deal, especially with the AAA discount.

Was this review helpful?Yes
Senior Reviewer

7 reviews 7 reviews

Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 starsReviewed August 4, 2012

Really enjoyed the catamaran sail with Woodwind cruises. Took the 1130am cruise and it was not crowded – plenty of room on the deck to lay out and relax. Crew provided giant pillows for our comfort and the full bar provided great drinks. I wished we could have sailed to Emerald Bay, next time we plan to charter a catamaran…More 

Was this review helpful?Yes
Lodi, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 starsReviewed July 31, 2012

All awesome. Really relaxing, so if you want high charged adventure, it might not be for you. Great for all ages shows really nice views of the lake.

Was this review helpful?Yes
California
Senior Reviewer

6 reviews 6 reviews

Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 starsReviewed July 23, 2012
1

 

person found this review helpful

We took the sunset cruise (booze cruise) on their catamaran. The actual seating was fairly limited outside, but there was a fair amount inside. They did have pillows (dog beds) to sit on, and it was quite comfortable. The free alcohol selection consisted of beer, champagne, and a red and a white wine. Other drinks were available for purchase. You might want to eat before the cruise, as the only food available was a snack mix (which was yummy). Our cruise was great, and the lake and surrounding land areas looked beautiful. From the moment I first called to the moment we disembarked, the staff was helpful and friendly.

Visited July 2012
8/18/2012
  • We took a two-hour sightseeing cruise on the Woodwind II and had a fantastic time. All five people in our party loved the experience.The cruise is super relaxing. They welcome you on board and give you the drinks menu once you’re there, and then you’re left on your own to chill out and do your thing.

    The boat consists of three main areas: The front bow, which is strewn with huge comfy pillows to sit and lie down on; the indoor area, which is where the bar is, and features as glass bottom, along with seating; and the back area, which has long benches to sit on.

    I really didn’t know what to expect for this, but I can say that I could easily have spent 4 hours instead of 2 on the boat! We sat at the front, lounging on the pillows, chatting and taking in the scenery. It’s so peaceful to be on the water, watching the waves, and gazing at the mountains. Of course, you can do it with a drink in hand as well! I was afraid the experience was going to feel too touristy or too much like I was forced to be with a group of strangers, but I was left the cruise feeling fantastic and super relaxed!

    One thing I would recommend, though, is that apparently you can have the cruise company pick you up from your hotel. Parking at Zephry Cove is a pain – when we arrived, the lot was almost full and we barely got a spot, and it costs $8 to park.

    8/7/2012 

  • I can not give enough praise for Woodwind Cruises! This was by far the best thing I have done in South Lake Tahoe. When I saw the boat I instantly knew that I needed to do this. When I was walking up to the counter to pay I saw that it was forty dollars. My first thoughts were that it would probably be an hour tour of the lake. When the guy told me it was a two hour cruise I was so excited. Once we got on the boat I found that it had an upper deck and a lower compartment where they served alcohol! 

    Once we got sailing they took us across the lake and it was amazing seeing Lake Tahoe from a completely different view (in the middle of the water) I was stunned. The sailing was smooth and you could barely feel the water as you glided across the water. The service was top notch. The crew was very friendly and helped you with whatever you might need. I can not compliment the crew enough. At the end all I could think of was gratitude. I was so happy to have been fortunate enough to ride on this boat and have a Lake Tahoe experience that I wish to replicate every time I come here

    Aron H. Santa Cruz

Dear Karen,
 
A heartfelt thanks to you, Captain Clark and the crew of the safari rose for making our wedding so incredible!!!! We couldn’t have asked for anything better. The captain even turned the boat around to pick up our (late) photographer! 
Everyone had a blast and it is something they will never forget. Please let everyone know how much we appreciate them!
 
 
Cheers,
Dawn and Paul Magyar
 
 
 
To be quite honest, this trip has definitely been the talk of the warehouse. It’s been said that it has been, by far, the best team build outing thus far; and we thank you and your team for helping us making it happen. We will most definitely try and inquire your help for future events as they come along, if our budget allows it, of course. Maybe as a prize for a safety contest or something. I’m sure we’ll come up with great ideas, and we’ll let you know when we’ve got something up our sleeves.  Take care.
 
Warmest regards,
 
Jessica Gutierrez
Barnes & Noble Distribution
  • We had a blast. Included in the price they provide some appetizers (nothing fancy), and a complimentary drink, the drinks were reasonably priced if you wanted more.

    We took the sunset tour of Emerald Bay which ran a little over two hours, which is just the right amount of time for me. I also really liked that the captain didn’t talk too much. They told us a few interesting tidbits about the lake, but for the most part, they played satellite radio and let us take in the views.

  • Review fromIgnatius R.

    5.0 star rating

    8/21/2012  This is a review of the SAFARI ROSE, which leaves from the Tahoe Keys Marina in South Lake Tahoe (i.e. NOT Zephyr Cove) and is operated by the same company that operates the Woodwind (i.e. http://www.tahoecruises.…)

    Four of us took the 4-hour day cruise, which includes lunch. We were very fortunate in that there were only eight additional guests and this boat can easily accommodate 50+ For those of you who don’t want the details, we had a marvelous time and can whole-heartedly recommend this cruise. For those of you who enjoy details, read on.

    The Safari Rose was built in the 1950s for corporate executives and it’s been lovingly restored. Everything reeks “play toy of the rich”. Three decks are open to guests: The top deck is completely open to facilitate panoramic views; deck chairs and tables are available. The second deck comprises a sitting room at the back, a very comfortable art-deco-ish bar (with sofa and easy chairs), the dining room, pilot house and a bow area equipped with plenty of seating. The lower deck boasts an impressive master suite with two baths plus two guest bedrooms, each equipped with its own bath.

    There are a total of five working bathrooms on board, which you will appreciate when you’re out for four hours. The whole boat is immaculate.

    The bar serves beer, wine and mixed drinks. We found the Bloody Mary’s to be excellent and the wine was good. The prices were fair. We were all pleasantly surprised by the quality of the lunch, which consisted of beef and chicken kabobs, rice pilaf, Caesar salad, fruit salad and brownies. Everything was very tasty (and we are experienced restaurant goers).

    The cruise itself was immensely enjoyable. A straight shot up to the “Godfather House” at Fleur du Lac and then downward along the western shore back to South Lake Tahoe, with a detour into Emerald Bay. The captain/guide was friendly and informative without being excessive.

    I recommend the Safari Rose because:

    1) Four hours gives you enough time to really see and “feel” the lake.

    2) Four hours gives you more time to see more of the things that are difficult or impossible to see from the shore (e.g, shoreline houses, private beaches, the Emerald Bay tea house and castle, the once-upon-a-time highest lighthouse in the world, plus an occupied osprey nest)

    3) They offer a free shuttle bus service for guests from/to their hotels

    4) It’s a luxurious boat with history. There is only one other boat that I know of which has any real history: The Tahoe Queen, which looks to me like it has a much greater passenger capacity and is therefore less intimate.

    5) The food was genuinely good.

    Additional considerations:

    1) It’s a bit of a walk from the parking area to the place of boarding (perhaps two blocks). A wheel chair is therefore available to guests. Note that it is necessary to negotiate stairs to board and move between decks.

    2) In my opinion, this tour is more likely to appeal to teens and adults (one of our party is 91 and she loved it).

    3) This is not the cheapest cruise you will find but we felt that the overall experience more than justified the price.

    4) There is also an evening (sunset) cruise

    I’m giving this five stars, something I rarely do,  because it’s as close to perfect as it gets.

  • Review fromMichael B.

    5.0 star rating

    8/19/2012

    Wow, where do we start? Gorgeous 80 ft yacht. Wonderful crew, Chris capt, Frank the chef, and Sam the humble deck hand, bartender, comedian, narrator, entertainer, actor, to say the least. Wonderful bbq lunch, with chicken and steak shishkabobs, fresh green salad,fresh fruit salad, yummy rice, and fresh brownies for dessert. Saw gorgeous lake, west shore, emerald bay with island and for 4 hour lunch and narrative capt Chris, you won’t find another cruise that’s better on lake tahoe. Strongly suggest this cruise, as opposed to the other cruises for 2 hours, frankly well worth the money. We came from Yorba Linda, CA. And can’t wait to come back. Michael & Rhonda

  • Review fromJane S.

    5.0 star rating

    8/18/2012

    We took a two-hour sightseeing cruise on the Woodwind II and had a fantastic time. All five people in our party loved the experience.

    The cruise is super relaxing. They welcome you on board and give you the drinks menu once you’re there, and then you’re left on your own to chill out and do your thing.

    The boat consists of three main areas: The front bow, which is strewn with huge comfy pillows to sit and lie down on; the indoor area, which is where the bar is, and features as glass bottom, along with seating; and the back area, which has long benches to sit on.

    I really didn’t know what to expect for this, but I can say that I could easily have spent 4 hours instead of 2 on the boat! We sat at the front, lounging on the pillows, chatting and taking in the scenery. It’s so peaceful to be on the water, watching the waves, and gazing at the mountains. Of course, you can do it with a drink in hand as well! I was afraid the experience was going to feel too touristy or too much like I was forced to be with a group of strangers, but I was left the cruise feeling fantastic and super relaxed!

    One thing I would recommend, though, is that apparently you can have the cruise company pick you up from your hotel. Parking at Zephry Cove is a pain – when we arrived, the lot was almost full and we barely got a spot, and it costs $8 to park.

I can not give enough praise for Woodwind Cruises! This was by far the best thing I have done in South Lake Tahoe. When I saw the boat I instantly knew that I needed to do this. When I was walking up to the counter to pay I saw that it was forty dollars. My first thoughts were that it would probably be an hour tour of the lake. When the guy told me it was a two hour cruise I was so excited. Once we got on the boat I found that it had an upper deck and a lower compartment where they served alcohol! 

 Once we got sailing they took us across the lake and it was amazing seeing Lake Tahoe from a completely different view (in the middle of the water) I was stunned. The sailing was smooth and you could barely feel the water as you glided across the water. The service was top notch. The crew was very friendly and helped you with whatever you might need. I can not compliment the crew enough. At the end all I could think of was gratitude. I was so happy to have been fortunate enough to ride on this boat and have a Lake Tahoe experience that I wish to replicate every time I come here.

 Aron H

Santa Cruz, Ca

Just wanted to say that we took the Safari Rose cruise on 8/7. It was very enjoyable, the narration, the food, the staff, and of course the wonderful lake and sights, we had a great time and will be happy to return! 

Walter & Martha inPhoenix

The cruise on the Safari Rose was absolutely beautiful, the crew was a delight and the lunch delicious.  My boyfriend and I had a great time.  It was a long slow walk for my guy down the pier to the Safari Rose in the morning, and I was dreading the walk back to the parking lot in the afternoon. What a wonderful surprise when I saw a wheelchair waiting at the dock.  I knew right away it was for David.   It was the highlight of a truly memorable day.  Thank you…Thank you…Thank you. 

Juanita Jagar

Hi Karen,

Wow – what an amazing time we had on the Safari Rose.  I can’t thank you and the crew enough for all their hospitality and such an wonderful atmosphere they created for my parents big event.  We had an awesome time and I’m sure all our guests won’t forget this experience.

So there are just a couple items left.  One item – I know this is a long shot, but if the crew finds a brown Ralph Lauren sunglasses in the main sleeping quarter downstairs, they are mine.  :(  I was in such a rush to clean up and get off the boat that I didn’t check to make sure they were in my purse that had been on the bed with other jackets and such.  I didn’t see them on the bed, so they may have fell off while someone else took their jacket.  At any rate, if they are found I would certainly compensate you for sending them to me.  I have a Fed Ex account number I could give you to send them to me or I would certainly pay for you to send them to me a different way. We did keep the bartender busy.  :)

Thanks again for such a wonderful venue to have my parents wedding anniversary party.  I would certainly recommend chartering the Safari Rose for any special occasion to all my friends.

Regards,  Dianne

I know Debbie sent you a note……As always great fun we always have with you folks……. I have a friend Jan Hughes and her family ( 4 maybe 5 ) that will be up there in a couple of weeks. I have recommended the West Side cruise and also the Thunderbird cruise to her……….Please take care of them for me like you always do for folks we send you way!   HopefullyClarkwill be on the boat with them and maybe Dave on the Thunderbird…. Both are very special………………. So is Chris, great job as always………….Thanks again for making us feel like part of the family!  

Thanks, Bryan

From YELP

Elaine P. Concord, CA 6/30/2012

Where is a sixth star when I need one?  Five are not enough to describe how we felt about our four-hour lunch cruise on the Safari Rose.

From my first phone call asking for information to the time we reluctantly stepped off the yacht and were back on shore, we experienced top customer service.  

Special shout out to Captain Clark and his crew for the day, Rhonda and Frank.  They may have made the trip many times, but you could tell they enjoyed their work and made the trip a very enjoyable one for everyone. Clark shared some good stories of Lake Tahoe.  Enough history — and a few jokes — to make the trip interesting, but not jabbering every minute.

We lucked out with perfect weather: clear, sunny skies and very little breeze.  

At times it felt as if we had the Safari Rose to ourselves as there were only 15 other passengers on board — way below the 40 that I had expected.  

Many great photo opps. as we traveled from South Lake Tahoe to the West Shore.  We especially enjoyed seeing the Kaiser estate where some of the Godfather was filmed.  Emerald Bay was another highlight.

Lunch was included in the price and was much more than the deli sandwiches that some other lunch cruises feature.  Frank grilled beef and chicken kabobs on board — could not have been fresher.  Accompaniments included green salad, fruit salad with an optional sweet sauce, rice pilaf, and brownies.  Coffee, iced tea, and lemonade were available. Rhonda poured generous drinks and we all enjoyed her Bloody Marys.

Woodwind Cruises has an excellent, easy-to-navigate website.  It was easy to see that per hour they offered the best deal for a Tahoe cruise.  Base price is $105 with a small discount for seniors. We took advantage of their  website special: $10 discount offered through the end of June.

What started out to be a bit of a splurge turned out to be a great value. Highly recommend the Safari  Rose over the paddle boat ventures where you have to deal with large crowds.  So glad we made time for a longer cruise on Lake Tahoe!

From YELP

Debbie W. Kent, WA 5/18/2012

We took this day cruise as a treat for my son-in-law to celebrate his 35th birthday! The crew was very nice and service was great. As it was April, it was sunny but still a bit chilly on the water. They brought out comfy pillows and blankets for us to lounge while we cruised the lake. Tina, the bartender brought us our drink orders and they had some tasty cocktails. She also doubled as the crew photographer and offered to use our camera to take some photos of us, even letting my little grandson steer the boat for his “photo shoot”! We had some wind so got to watch the crew hoist the sails so we could experience the lake by sail. Great views, great company and great fun

June 30, 2012

 
My husband and I took the Safari Rose cruise on Friday 6/29/12 and we wanted to thank the crew and everyone involved. We enjoyed every minute of it and only wished it wasn’t over. The boat is a beauty, the food was great, the crew experienced and friendly. We felt more like guests then paying customers. Yes we would highly recommend it, perhaps not to people with young children but otherwise absolutely. Thanks so much for a special day.
 
B Dolezal
 
 

Elegance and Luxury on the Safari Rose

 Last year Marlene and I had a wonderful time aboard the beautiful Safari Rose – we were particularly keen on seeing the Godfather house – since she had just recently completed a marathon of Godfather I, II & III. Join us for a day of the finest cruising on Lake Tahoe aboard our classic 80′ motor yacht, the Safari Rose. On this 4-hour sightseeing cruise we see Emerald Bay, of course, but there’s so much more.  At 11:00 AM we depart Tahoe Keys Marina on the south shore and head north while the Captain begins his narrative. Take a moment to explore the Safari Rose, walk around the teak decks, the main salon with plush carpet, leather furniture and full bar, the semi enclosed fantail – or grab a chair up on the sun deck, sit back and relax – it’s all comfortable. Get out your cameras folks, our first stop is Fleur-du-Lac, the famed estate of Henry J. Kaiser, where the movie “Godfather II” was filmed. You will be served lunch aboard the yacht as we head south from there through McKinney Bay, passing the old brothel at Homewood, historic Chambers Landing and Sugar Pine Point State Park, site of the Hellman-Ehrman Mansion built in 1903.Continuing on we go by the fabulous lakefront homes and gorgeous beaches in Meeks and Rubicon Bay. Just past serene Lester Beach Cove at Bliss State Park we encounter the Rubicon Cliffs that drop from several hundred feet above us almost vertically over a thousand feet to the lake bottom. Following the pristine shoreline south we enter spectacular, glacier-carved Emerald Bay for a glimpse of osprey and bald eagles and take a spin around Fannette Island to view Eagle Falls and the Vikingsholm Mansion. Departing Emerald Bay we proceed past more lakefront homes at Cascade Properties, Baldwin Beach, Mt. Tallac and the Tallac Historic Site on the way back to our home port. Bring your camera and binoculars – this is Tahoe sightseeing at its finest!  Full bar available on board. Cruise lasts approx. 4 hours. Advance reservations are required.

 

Posted on http://thingsyoushoulddo.com/california/safari-rose/


Hello,  My son was on vacation with his friends family. He accidentally left his phone on the boat owned by Woodwind Cruises. They did not realize it until they were almost back to San Francisco to fly home to New York. I want to thank your employees and company for their kindness and willingness to go “above and beyond”. They mailed the phone back very quickly and we were so happy with your employee/company honesty & integrity. If we ever get the chance to visit , we would definitely go on a cruise and recommend you highly.

Sincerely, Joyce Feeley

 


 

JUN 2011
My wife and I cruised with Captain Chris and First Mate Vic (as I recall the names) to Thunderbird Lodge last Friday. Just wanted to compliment you and them on the professional way they handled themselves – making every effort to inform and entertain while keeping everything shipshape and on schedule. They are both extremely knowledgeable in every aspect of their jobs – the boat, the lake, the history and stories, the places we saw along the way…and the Lodge. They are a great asset to Tahoe Cruises! Thanks, Mike A.


heated salon safari rose interior bar seating

 

JUN 2011
My wife and I went on the “4th of July – Safari Rose Cruise. We are boaters and regularly bareboat charter up to 50 footers in the San Juans and Channel Islands of Canada. We handle the boat, just the two of us. We want to praise the Safari Rose, her crew (Chris, Frank & J.T.) and your company for offering the best value-for-money on the lake. We were impressed with everything, but especially the crew, even Gayle, the bus driver and the ticket lady at dock-side. Everyone made a great impression on u s. We have already sent emails to our friends and acquaintances regaling them with praise of how good you guys are. We are extremely impressed, pleased and satisfied. As boaters we have high expectations and you guys certainly exceeded our expectations in a BIG way. Great service!  
Sincerely, Bill & Katherine T.

 

 

 

 

 


 

JUN 2011
Last night (6/22/11) my husband, my mother and I had the most wonderful time on the Safari Rose. Josh did a great job on his first night, being very attentive to me and the rest of the passengers. The captain was great at letting us know what was going on and the history of the area. The food was excellent and much more than we expected. It was an incredible experience & we will be recommending you to anyone who asks. When we made the reservations we wondered about how pampered we would be. We found out that the crew treated us like the high class executives that would have used the boat when it was in Miami for 3M. If you ever want a passenger testimonials we would be happy to do that. We look forward to cruising with you soon!  Robin H.


Tahoe Cruises reviews from Yelp! listed under “Woodwind Cruises”

 

OCT 2011

Great value for the money.  It was a nice, long cruise up and down the lake.  Everything that we had hoped for.


 

JUL 2011
We took the sunset cruise and had a great time!  Before you get on the boat the crew explains everything to those coming on board, including the fact that it is a working boat (which means the crew is very active in positioning the sails and rigging).  As you come on board they take a picture of your group and then encourage you to grab a drink down below.  

There are many options for places to sit and enjoy the cruise.  You can stay up front, where many cushions and blankets are available for your comfort (but it’s a bit windy there).  We spent a lot of time inside so we could be closer to the booze (can you blame us?).  You can also stand at the railings along the side and in the back where it is much less windy.

We were out for about an hour and a half and it was the perfect time period… not too short, not too long.  There were probably close to 25 people on this cruise, but you never felt like it was crowded.  At one point in the cruise the captain stopped the boat so that we could get a good look at Tahoe Tessie who popped her head up to see us.  My highest recommendation is that I would not only recommend this cruise to others, but I would definitely do it again… terrific fun!! Kat S.


 

charters lake tahoe boat rides tours adventure

 

JUL 2011
What an amazing time on the Safari Rose! My husband and I went for our honeymoon, and couldn’t have had a better day. The weather was gorgeous. They have a bar on board and even serve you lunch. Most of the couples on the boat were older, but we still made a few friends.

The narration on the cruise was great. I’ve been to Tahoe tons of times, and never knew half the facts that were mentioned. 

The crew had amazing customer service and I’d recommend this cruise (11 am – 3 pm) to anyone who wants to learn a bit more about the lake in a relaxed, fun setting. Stacie P.

 


JUN 2011
I remember losing a cap on this cruise due to the high winds.

Nonetheless, great scenery, friendly staff, time with family equates to a great experience. Tim Z.

 


7/28/2010
Safari Rose yacht was a pleasure to board. Though Woodwind Cruises has a few different yachts and boats offered, we were lucky enough to board the Rose. 

Ship has magnificent history. Captain and staff were very knowledgeable and made the 4 hour cruise pleasurable, filled with interesting facts and stats about the Lake. Lunch was served on-board, which I think was pre-cooked and just basically reheated on the ship…not my favorite part of the cruise, but I was hungry so everything went down. Nice little bar on board. 

Cruise takes you nearly to Kings Beach on north shore and you get to see many sites and cabin mansions from the water that are not visible from the highway. 

A must do if you are new to the Tahoe experience or a returning visitor who wants to see something different. 

Steve M.

 


 

9/9/2010
I had my wedding reception on The Tahoe out of Marina Keys just this past Saturday, 9/4/10. I worked w/Karen for the arrangements. When we got to the boat (there were 5 adults & 4 children) we were greeted by our Captain Chris, and Vic, our bartender. These guys were AWESOME. They were fantastic with the kids, they were fun, knowledgeable, and professional. I would recommend this in a hot second. It was a beautiful trip, a great night, the kids had a ball & so did the adults. 
Fantastic! Dawn G.


 

7/21/2008
Had a great time on this cruise!  They have sailings daily through Zephyr Cove every couple of hours.  We went at 3:30 and had the best winds!  The winds were blowing at 40 kn and we were traveling about 10 kn.  Now I am not a sailor or know anything about sailing….I was told this by my friend who does sail and I guess that is an impressive speed!  

Now to get to the stuff I do know about…..the drinks!  The boat has a full bar and a great crew that not only kept us afloat but mixed up some yummy cocktails.  Rum Runners, Lava Flows, Margaritas…..whatever our hearts desired!  And they were soooo friendly and fun.  The first mate walked around took drink orders (because a little buzz and a moving catamaran make it a little difficult for those that don’t have sea legs!) and offered to take group photos!  

Basic info……the cruise was about 2 hours long, $32 for all the cruises but the twilight happy hour cruise ($47 I think), and if you save your ticket stub you can go back and get your next cruise at half price.  

Totally worth your time and your money!  What more can a person ask for?  Good cocktails, great views, wind blowing in your hair, and leisure time with friends!   Avon T.


9/21/2009
My perfect day in Tahoe! 

We were on the Safari Rose which cruises the west shore of the lake daily starting at 11am for 4 hours. The size of the party we had on Labor Day was perfect, about 22 of us.  It wasn’t crowded and there were lots of space on the lower and upper deck for everyone to enjoy the beautiful view.

The crew were friendly, helpful and informative. They have a full bar downstairs that you can have an open tab throughout the cruise, and lunch were grilled upstairs, so it tasted good and freshly cooked. Ice tea and lemonade were provided free.

I saw a lot of great views and sceneries that were all new to me. I can’t wait to go back to Tahoe and take the cruise to see the east shore!!  Florence W.

 


9/11/2009
A great day on the lake.  The water is even more incredibly blue when you are on it.  We took the Safari Rose day cruise which leaves from the Tahoe Keys Marina.  It was great.  The crew were really friendly and did everything they could to make the trip fun and relaxing.  

The scenery was really interesting.  I haven’t spent any time on the west shore at all,  so everything was new to me and most of it you can’t see from the road.  The boat captain did a wonderful job of pointing out all kinds of interesting landmarks.  I highly recommend this cruise.

The 4 hour cruise includes lunch which was much better than I expected.  One of the crew grilled steak and chicken kabobs.  Salad, fruit, and rice were also available.  Brownies and cookies for dessert.  Iced tea and lemonade are free, cocktails are reasonably priced.

Review from Dave P.


woodwind II sailing lake tahoe in style tahoe cruises

6/3/2009
We first went on Woodwind to celebrate my wife’s birthday a couple of years ago and had so much fun we decided to try the 4th of July Fireworks trip.  It wasn’t cheap but what a fantastic evening.  We talked about it so much that some friends and relatives wanted to go so we ended up doing it again.  The crew really know how to entertain, we had another fantastic evening.
I would highly recommend this for a splurge night.  Review from Jack G.


10/25/2008
We got lucky – only the group I was with (6 of us) and a family of three.  Didn’t matter for Woodwind as they still treated us great.  They were stoked to be there and even better, made good bloody mary’s.  

The trip length is pretty decent, but it could always be longer (Lake Tahoe is rad).

Anyway, I recommend these guys.  Good ride, fun stuff, dope drinks. Review from Latham A.


9/23/2009
I will echo what the previous reviewers have said.  We did a 2 hour tour at half the price of typical rides.  The service was top notch, the atmosphere was great, would do it again! Review from Robert C.


9/7/2009 6 photos
This was awesome! Paid only 28 dollars for the cruise, we got the $4 off coupon per couple. We went on the happy hour cruise so all cocktails were half off!  I’ve never been on a sail boat but it was really fun and relaxing. They have big cushions that you can sit on. The bartender Tina had so much energy! Everyone was very friendly on the boat. It was so pretty and the view of the lake was amazing! Review from SANDY P.